The Raymond and Beverly Sackler **Distinguished Lecturers in Chemistry**

1980-81	Prof. Rudolf A. Marcus
1982-83	Prof. Andrew Streitwieser, Jr.
1983-84	Prof. John B. Fenn
1984-85	Prof. Bruce Berne
1985-86	Prof. Robert G. Shulman
1985-86	Prof. George Feher
1986-87	Prof. Adam Heller
1987-88	Prof. Harold L. Friedman
1988-89	Prof. Walter D. Knight
1989-90	Prof. Robert Silbey
1990-91	Prof. Vitali I. Goldanskii
1991-92	Prof. Richard E. Smalley
1992-93	Prof. Ahmed H. Zewail
1993-94	Prof. Anatol M. Zhabotinsky
1993-94	Prof. Graham Fleming
1994-95	Prof. Friedrich Hensel
1995-96	Prof. Alex Pines

Joshua Jortner Distinguished Lectures in Chemistry of The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Foundation

1996-97	Prof. John M. Deutch
1998-99	Prof. Steve Berry
1999-00	Prof. Gary H. Posner
2000-01	Prof. Jan Peter Toennies
2001-02	Prof. Adrian Parsegian
2003-04	Prof. Claude Cohen-Tannoudji
2004-05	Prof. George Whitesides
2005-06	Prof. Tobin J. Marks
2006-07	Prof. K. C. Nicolaou
2007-08	Prof. Mark A. Ratner
2009-10	Prof. Barry Trost
2009-10	Prof. Louis Brus
2010-11	Prof. Richard Van Duyne
2011-12	Prof. Krzysztof Matyjaszewski
2013-14	Prof. Martin Moskovits



Joshua Jortner בכימיה מיוחדות בכימיה

Distinguished Lectures in Chemistry Endowed by Raymond and Beverly Sackler

על שם יהושע יורטנר

נתרמו ע"י ריימונד ובברלי סאקלר

Professor Ben L. Feringa Stratingh Institute for Chemistry

Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials & Center for Systems Chemistry University of Groningen

Nijenborgh, Groningen, The Netherlands

פרופסור בן פרינגה

מכון סטרטינג לכימיה מכון זרניק לחומרים מתקדמים ומרכז לכימיה של מערכות אוניברסיטת גרונינגן ניינבורג, גרונינגן, הולנד

סמינר Seminar

"CONTROLLING CHIRAL SPACE IN ASYMMETRIC CATALYSIS"

The seminar will take place on Sunday, 8 March 2015, at 16:00, in Holcblat Hall, Shenkar Physics Building,

Tel-Aviv University, Ramat-Aviv.

ההרצאה תתקיים ביום ראשון, 8 במרץ 2015, בשעה 16.00, באולם הולצבלט, בבניין שנקר לפיסיקה, אוניברסיטת תל-אביב, רמת-אביב.

General Lecture הרצאה כללית

"THE ART OF BUILDING SMALL from molecular switches to molecular motors "

The Lecture will be held on Tuesday, 10 March 2015, at 16:00, in Melamed Hall, Shenkar Physics Building, Tel-Aviv University, Ramat-Aviv.

ההרצאה תתקיים ביום שלישי, 10.00 במרץ 2015, בשעה 16.00, באולם מלמד, בבניין שנקר לפיסיקה, אוניברסיטת תל-אביב, רמת-אביב.

Light refreshments will be served before each Lecture כיבוד קל יוגש רבע שעה לפני כל הרצאה



Joshua Jortner was born in Poland in 1933 and immigrated to Israel in 1940. He received his Ph.D. from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1960. In 1964 he was appointed to a professorship in the Department of Chemistry at Tel Aviv University and served as its first chairman. From 1966-72 he served as Deputy Rector, Acting Rector and Vice President of Tel Aviv University. From 1973-2003 he held the position of the Heinemann Professor of Chemistry at the School of Chemistry, The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Faculty of Exact Sciences of Tel Aviv University. He has held visiting Professorships at the University of Chicago, the University of Copenhagen, and the University of California, Berkeley. In 1995 he was the Christensen Visiting Fellow, St. Catherine's College, Oxford, and in 1998 he served in the International Research Chair "Blaise Pascal" of the Fondation de l'École Normale Supérieure, France. Jortner holds honorary doctorates from the Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel (1985);

the Pierre and Marie Curie University of Paris, France (1986); the Technical University of Munich, Germany (1996); the Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel (2005); the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel (2005); the Free University of Berlin, Germany (2005); and the Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany, (2003). Among his awards are the International Academy of Quantum Science Award (1972), the Weizmann Prize (1973), the Rothschild Prize (1976), the Kolthof Prize (1976), the Israel Prize in Exact Sciences (1982), the Wolf Prize in Chemistry (1988), the Honorary J. Heyrovsky Medal (1993), the August Wilhelm von Hofmann Medal (1995), the Joshua Jortner Distinguished Lectures in Chemistry Endowed by Raymond and Beverly Sackler (1997), the Robert S. Mulliken Medal (1999), the Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize (1999), the Maria Sklodowsky-Curie Medal of the Polish Chemical Society (2003), the Medal of the Israeli Chemical Society (2004), the Joshua Jortner Chair in Chemistry endowed by Raymond and Beverly Sackler (2007), the Lise Meitner Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (2007), and the EMET Prize in Exact Sciences: Chemistry (2008). A member of the Israeli Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Jortner is a foreign honorary member of the Academies of Sciences of Denmark, Poland, Romania, Russia, India, the Netherlands and the Czech Republic. He is a member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Sciences, the Academia Scientiarium et Artium Europaea and the Leopoldina National Academy of Germany. He is a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Philosophical Society, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. He held many honorary lectureships in Europe, Asia, the United States and Israel.

Jortner served as President of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities (1986-1995), served as the Founding President of the Israel Science Foundation, and acted as Science Advisor to the Prime Ministers of Israel, Shamir, Rabin and Peres. He served as the President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (1998-2000).

His research centers on the exploration of the phenomena of energy acquisition, storage and disposal in isolated molecules, clusters, condensed phases and biophysical systems. Jortner is the author of over 725 scientific publications, and the author and editor of 28 books.



Ben L. Feringa obtained his PhD degree at the University of Groningen in the Netherlands under the guidance of Professor Hans Wynberg. After working as a research scientist at Shell in the Netherlands and at the Shell Biosciences Centre in the UK, he was appointed lecturer and in 1988 full professor at the University of Groningen and named the Jacobus H. van't Hoff Distinguished Professor of Molecular Sciences in 2004. He was elected Foreign Honory member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is member and vice-president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. In 2008 he was appointed Academy Professor and was knighted by Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands.

Feringa's research has been recognized with a number of awards including the Koerber European Science Award (2003), the Spinoza Award (2004), the Prelog gold medal (2005), the Norrish Award of the ACS (2007), the

Paracelsus medal (2008), the Chirality medal (2009),the RSC Organic Stereochemistry Award (2011), Humboldt Award (2012), the Grand Prix Scientifique Cino del Duca (French Academy 2012) and the Nagoya Gold Medal (2013). The research interest includes stereochemistry, organic synthesis, asymmetric catalysis, molecular switches and motors, self-assembly and molecular nanosystems.

www.benferinga.com